Virginia Marijuana Possession Defense Attorney
Charged with a Cannabis-Related Crime?
Virginia may be set to reform its marijuana laws in the near future. However, it’s still possible to be criminally charged for a crime related to cannabis. Medical marijuana is legal and simple possession is de-criminalized. However, Virginians aren’t currently enjoying the looser restrictions of states like Colorado and California. Law enforcement is as vigilant as ever to enforce the state’s drug laws. You could get caught up in the criminal justice system for misinterpreting some of the new laws coming into effect.
At Virginia Hemp Lawyers™, we can do more than help hemp growers with the legal matters concerning their business. If you’ve been charged with possession of marijuana, we can help you too. Attorney Tyson Daniel has past experience as a public defender and can help you fight your charges. With his understanding of Virginia's marijuana laws, attorney Daniel has what it takes to help you seek justice.
If you were arrested and are facing charges, reach out to the Virginia marijuana possession defense attorney at Virginia Cannabis Lawyers™. Contact us online or call (540) 401-5564 to schedule a consultation.
Possession of Marijuana in Virginia
As of 2020, marijuana possession is illegal in Virginia unless said substance was obtained from a valid prescription. While simple possession is charged only as a civil violation, the trafficking or illegal sale of marijuana can result in a felony charge, steep fines, and jail time.
The sale of marijuana-related paraphernalia is considered a Class-1 misdemeanor. This also includes advertising the sale of such paraphernalia or knowingly printing material that includes such advertisements. This charge can be upgraded to a Class-6 felony if this paraphernalia is solid to a minor who is at least three years younger than the accused.
Simple Possession Decriminalization in Virginia
Early in 2020, Virginia’s lawmakers moved to decriminalize simple possession of marijuana, defined as amounts of less than an ounce. Possession of marijuana cases and charges now impose a $25 civil penalty.
These changes in the law look likely to pass. However, the current state cannabis laws remain on the books. These laws punish simple possession to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine. A second offense can land someone up to a year in jail and $2,500 in fines.
Other current marijuana charges that may soon be diminished or eliminated include:
- Class 1 misdemeanor drug possession defined as having up to half an ounce
- Class 5 felony possession defined as having more than half an ounce
- Six-month driver’s license suspensions for adults convicted of possessing up to an ounce of marijuana
- Employers and educational institutions are free to require applicants to disclose possession charges
Again, the above are laws currently in place that may soon be relaxed or removed by pending legislation. You can still be criminally charged with simple possession of marijuana in Virginia. Even after these laws are enacted, recreational marijuana isn’t legal – you can still be charged with a crime! All of these are important reasons why you should reach out to a Virginia marijuana possession attorney if you have concerns.
Reach out to Virginia Cannabis Lawyers for Experienced Defense
If you need defense now or think you may need help in the future, reach out to our defense lawyer immediately! At Virginia Hemp Lawyers™, we are keeping a close watch on our state’s changing laws. We are constantly adapting our legal strategies to defend those charged with possession of marijuana and related crimes.
Firm founder Tyson Daniel is also a founding member and Vice President of the Cannabis Association of Virginia - better known as “CannaBizVA.” It’s a 501(c)(6) lobbying organization and information about the organization can be found at www.cannabizva.org.
Facing cannabis related criminal charges in Virginia? Contact us online to request a consultation from our attorney.